SABCS bestows the 2022 William L. McGuire Lecture Award to Jeffrey Rosen, PhD



Jeffrey M. Rosen, PhD will give the William L. McGuire Lecture at the 45th annual San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium Dec. 6 – 10 at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center.

Rosen is the 31st recipient of the award which was established in 1992 to commemorate the significant contributions to breast oncology by McGuire who, founded SABCS in 1988 along with Charles A. Coltman, MD.

He will present a lecture titled, “Leveraging Preclinical Models for Translational Breast Cancer Research.” The date and time will be announced later.

“Dr. Rosen’s contributions to breast cancer discovery and translational research have been an example to many of us in this field. He is an outstanding recipient of the McGuire Award,” said McGuire Award selection committee Chair and SABCS co-director Carlos L. Arteaga, MD, FAACR, director of the Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center and associate dean of Oncology at UT Southwestern Medical Center.

Rosen is a distinguished service professor of molecular and cellular biology and the co-leader of the breast cancer program at the Dan L Duncan Comprehensive Cancer Center, Baylor College of Medicine in Houston. He is being recognized for his extraordinary contributions to preclinical and translational breast cancer research, and for his commitment to transdisciplinary collaboration and mentoring of early-career scientists.

“I first met Bill McGuire over 50 years ago at a Hormone Action Gordon Research Conference, and I was fortunate to have many scientific interactions with him during his lifetime,” Rosen said. “Bill provided both the inspiration and encouragement for my career in breast cancer research. I hope that the development and utilization of breast cancer preclinical models will be important in personalizing and modifying treatment options, particularly in terms of combining therapies and employing immunotherapy in the treatment of metastatic breast cancer.”

Rosen joined the faculty at Baylor College of Medicine in 1973 and was a founding member of the Department of Cell Biology, the first department of its kind in the United States. While on sabbatical in the laboratory of George Stark, PhD, Rosen was involved in the early studies that elucidated the mechanisms of interferon action, which helped lead to the discovery of the JAK/STAT pathway. In addition to his scientific research, Rosen has mentored more than 100 graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and junior faculty members.

“Dr. Rosen personifies what the McGuire award is all about; discoveries in the lab that directly impact patient care,” said SABCS Co-sponsor Virginia Kaklamani, MD, DSc, professor of medicine and leader of the Breast Oncology Program at UT Health San Antonio MD Anderson Cancer Center. “He is a pioneer in the fields of mammary gland biology and endocrinology, highly respected in the field, and this award is well-deserved.”

#SABCS22 is currently accepting abstract submissions through July 15. Registration is also open. Those who register and pay by Oct. 31 will receive a discount. Hotel information available here. Reserve your room at one of the official 2022 SABCS hotels while discounted hotel rooms are available.

Categories: Program | Tags: William L. McGuire Award, Carlos Arteaga, Virginia Kaklamani, Jeffrey Rosen, Dan L Duncan Comprehensive Cancer Center, Baylor College of Medicine, San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium, SABCS | View Count: (1513) | Return

Post a Comment