Nominate a deserving investigator for the 2022 McGuire

Olufunmilayo "Funmi" Olopade during her #SABCS21 McGuire Lecture.

The 45th annual San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium® has opened the window for nominations for the William L. McGuire Award and Lectureship. This award recognizes investigators for their extraordinary and sustained achievements in translational and/or clinical research who have positively impacted our understanding of the pathogenesis and/or outcome of breast cancer patients.

Olufunmilayo “Funmi” Olopade, MD, FASCO, FACP, OON of University of Chicago Medicine was the #SABCS21 recipient. Her presentation was titled, “Heterogeneity of Breast Cancer Genomes: Going Beyond Therapy to Risk Assessment and Prevention.”

The 2022 William L. McGuire Award and Lectureship nominations are due electronically by 5 p.m. CST, April 6. Nominators must provide a letter describing why they are recommending the candidate along with the candidate’s curriculum vitae. Submit your nominations for the William L. McGuire Award and Lectureship through this link —

The McGuire Award was established in 1992 to honor William L. McGuire, MD, who co-founded SABCS in 1977 along with Charles A. Coltman, MD.

Past recipients are not eligible. A list of past winners is below.

Michael Baum, MD
Charles A. Coltman, Jr., MD
Nancy E. Davidson, MD
Mitchell Dowsett, PhD
Bernard Fisher, MD
Joe Gray, PhD
Gabriel N. Hortobagyi, MD
Kathryn Bloch Horwitz, PhD
James N. Ingle, MD
Craig Jordan, PhD, DSc
Benita S. Katzenellenbogen, PhD
Amy S. Langer, MBA
Marc Lippman, MD
Monica Morrow, MD, FACS
Larry Norton, MD
Bert O’Malley, MD
C. Kent Osborne, MD
Martine Piccart, MD, PhD
Trevor J. Powles, MD PhD
Richard J. Santen, MD
Dennis J. Slamon, MD, PhD
George W. Sledge, Jr., MD
Umberto Veronesi, MD
Eric P. Winer, MD
Norman Wolmark, MD
Sir Richard Peto, FRS
Ian E. Smith, MD, FRCP, FRCPE
Joseph Sparano, MD
Mary-Claire King, PhD
Olufunmilayo “Funmi” Olopade, MD, FASCO, FACP, OON

Categories: Program | Tags: San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium, #SABCS22, SABCS, William L. McGuire Award and Lectureship, Olufunmilayo “Funmi” Olopade, William L. McGuire | View Count: (1550) | Return

Post a Comment