Rich Markow rides off into the sunset

Symposium Director Rich Markow receives a token of appreciation during the opening remarks from co-directors (left to right) C. Kent Osborne, MD; Virginia Kaklamani, MD; and Carlos Arteaga, MD.

The 41st Annual San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium® (SABCS®) was the last one for Symposium Director Rich Markow, who is retiring effective Feb. 1 after 18 years.

During his tenure, SABCS has swelled in attendance to more than 7,500, increased its number of days, and attendees are able to attain information and receive CME credit through interactive exchanges at abstract presentations, panel discussions, research findings and state-of-the-art educational sessions.

Markow established a far-reaching global presence by creating the Best of SABCS, which has an additional four conferences in the United States and at least 12 more across the world. The efforts to promote cancer research and advancements in treatment are also seen through UT Health San Antonio’s other conferences including The Best of ASCO Texas and Practical Applications of New Agents in Oncology. Markow also helped establish the Texas Genome Maintenance Conference that will debut in 2020.

Categories: Program | Tags: SABCS, San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium, C. Kent Osborne, Virginia Kaklamani, Carlos Arteaga, Rich Markow | View Count: (3569) | Return


Post a Comment