Information for International Travelers

International Travelers

The San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium is truly an international symposium. The contributions of attendees and presenters from many different countries are highly valued. We hope that you will act promptly to help us assure that this can continue. Advanced planning can smooth the visa application process for you.

Recent reports indicate that it could take anywhere from 3 to 8 months to obtain a visa. If you are traveling to the symposium from outside the United States, it is vital that you start the process of obtaining your visa as early as possible. Please click on the link below:

If you are traveling to the symposium from outside the United States, and require a visa or a letter for your institution/university, SABCS wishes to support your efforts to secure the needed travel documentation to attend the Symposium. The Welcome letter may help smooth the visa process and is acceptable by those institutions/universities requiring a written letter. Individuals that require a Welcome letter must first register and pay for the Symposium.

COVID-19 Information

For information on international travel to the United States, please click on the link below.

Current Visa Processing Situation

Please refer to the link below for the most updated information:

Visa Waiver Program

The Visa Waiver Program (VWP) allows citizens of participating countries to travel to the United States without a visa for stays of 90 days or less, when they meet all requirements. 

Travelers must be eligible to use the VWP and have a valid Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) approval prior to travel. Please click here to see if you are eligible to apply for ESTA (Electronic System for Travel Authorization). 

If you prefer to have a visa in your passport, you may still apply for a visitor (B) visa.

You are eligible to apply for admission under the Visa Waiver Program (VWP) if you are a citizen or national of one of the Visa Waiver Program countries listed below.

Andorra              Hungary  Norway 
Australia  Iceland  Poland
Austria  Ireland  Portugal
Belgium  Italy  San Marino 
Brunei  Japan  Singapore
Chile  Latvia  Slovakia
Czech Republic  Liechtenstein  Slovenia
Denmark  Lithuania  South Korea
Estonia  Luxembourg  Spain
Finland  Malta Sweden 
France  Monaco  Switzerland 
Germany  Netherlands  Taiwan[1]   
Greece  New Zealand  United Kingdom 

[1]With respect to all references to "country" or "countries" in this document, it should be noted that the Taiwan Relations Act of 1979, Pub. L. No. 96-8, Section 4(b)(1), provides that "[w]henever the laws of the United States refer or relate to foreign countries, nations, states, governments, or similar entities, such terms shall include and such laws shall apply with respect to Taiwan." 22 U.S.C. § 3303(b)(1). Accordingly, all references to "country" or "countries" in the Visa Waiver Program authorizing legislation, Section 217 of the Immigration and Nationality Act, 8 U.S.C. 1187, are read to include Taiwan. This is consistent with the United States' one-China policy, under which the United States has maintained unofficial relations with Taiwan since 1979.