Brinker Award winners to speak at #SABCS19




Susan G. Komen® recently announced the recipients of the 2019 Brinker Awards for Scientific Distinction. They will receive their awards and present lectures at the 2019 San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium® (SABCS®) at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center, Dec. 10-14.

The Brinker Award for Scientific Distinction in Basic Science will be presented to Jane Visvader, Ph.D., and Geoffrey Lindeman, MBBS FRACP Ph.D., Joint Heads of the Cancer Biology and Stem Cells Division at the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute (WEHI), in Melbourne, Australia.

The Brinker Award for Scientific Distinction in Clinical Research will be presented to Matthew J. Ellis, B.Sc., M.B., B.Chir., Ph.D., FRCP, Professor of Medicine and Cellular and Molecular Biology, Director of the Lester and Sue Smith Breast Center, and Associate Director for Translational Research at the Dan L Duncan Cancer Center, Baylor College of Medicine.

The recipients will be honored during the symposium and present keynote lectures Wednesday, Dec. 11 at 2:15 p.m. in Hall 3. Visvader and Lindeman will present, “Deciphering Stem and Progenitor Cells to Understand Breast Cancer.” Ellis will present, “The Molecular Etiology of Luminal-Type Breast Cancer.”

According to the announcement from Komen, “Drs. Visvader and Lindeman have made significant contributions to our understanding of how normal and cancerous cells develop in the breast. Their research has resulted in critical insights about the regulation of normal breast cell growth and breast cancer initiation and progression, including the identification of breast stem cells that give rise to normal breast tissue and the breast cells that are predisposed to becoming cancerous in women with BRCA1 gene mutations.”

Komen also wrote, “Dr. Ellis is being honored for seminal contributions in understanding the genomics of breast cancer and translating this knowledge to the clinic to improve the efficacy of breast cancer treatment. His work to define the genomic landscape of breast cancer, drug resistance mechanisms and biomarkers for breast cancer prognosis, coupled with his pioneering research in the pre-surgical treatment of breast cancer, has resulted in significant advances that are paving the way for more personalized treatments for breast cancer.”

You can read the full press release here.

Visit the following link for the complete ‘#SABCS2019 schedule. Registration for the symposium is open through Nov. 22 but discounted registration ends Oct. 31. Visit to register today.


Categories: Program | Tags: #SABCS19, San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium, Susan G. Komen, Brinker, Brinker Awards for Scientific Distinction, Jane Visvader, Geoffrey Lindeman, Matthew J. Ellis, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute, Dan L Duncan Cancer Center, Baylor College of Medicine | View Count: (3235) | Return

Post a Comment