McGuire Award Nominations open for an investigator making a difference in patient outcomes

Ian Smith MD2018 McGuire Award Winner Ian Smith, MD, FRCP, FRCPE

Nominations are open for the William L. McGuire Award and Lectureship presented each year at the San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium®. This award recognizes investigators for their extraordinary and sustained achievements in translational and/or clinical research that have positively impacted our understanding of the pathogenesis and/or outcome of breast cancer patients.  

Nominators must provide a letter describing why they are nominating the candidate along with the candidate’s curriculum vitae. All nominations must be submitted electronically to Please include McGuire Award Nomination in the subject line. Nominations for the 2019 William L. McGuire Award and Lectureship must be received electronically by April 6, 5 p.m. (CST). The winner will be announced in May.

The McGuire Award was established in 1992 to honor William L. McGuire, MD, who co-founded SABCS in 1977 along with Charles A. Coltman, MD.

Past awardees are not eligible. A list of past winners is below.

Michael Baum, MD

Charles A. Coltman, Jr., MD

Nancy E. Davidson, MD

Mitchell Dowsett, PhD

Bernard Fisher, MD

Joe Gray, PhD

Gabriel N. Hortobagyi, MD

Kathryn Bloch Horwitz, PhD

James N. Ingle, MD

Craig Jordan, PhD, DSc

Benita S. Katzenellenbogen, PhD

Amy S. Langer, MBA

Marc Lippman, MD

Monica Morrow, MD, FACS

Larry Norton, MD

Bert O’Malley, MD

C. Kent Osborne, MD

Martine Piccart, MD, PhD

Trevor J. Powles, MD PhD

Richard J. Santen, MD

Dennis J. Slamon, MD, PhD

George W. Sledge, Jr., MD

Umberto Veronesi, MD

Eric P. Winer, MD

Norman Wolmark, MD

Sir Richard Peto, FRS

Ian E. Smith, MD, FRCP, FRCPE

Categories: Program | Tags: William L. McGuire Award and Lectureship, SABCS, San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium, nomination, award, lecture, program, #SABCS19 | View Count: (3608) | Return

Post a Comment