Susan G. Komen® honors two investigators as Brinker Award recipients for 2018


Today, at the 41st annual San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium (SABCS), Susan G. Komen® honored two breast cancer investigators, Lisa Coussens, Ph.D. and Eric Winer, M.D, as Brinker Award recipients for 2018.

The Brinker Awards recognize advances in the underlying mechanisms of breast cancer and the clinical setting. These awards are the highest scientific honor awarded by Susan G. Komen®.

This year, the Brinker Award for Scientific Distinction in Basic Science was presented to Lisa Coussens, Ph.D., Professor of Cell, Developmental and Cancer Biology, School of Medicine, at the Knight Cancer Institute at Oregon Health & Sciences University in Portland, OR.

Coussens is best known for her discoveries about the role of immune cells in cancer development and progression. Upon receiving her recognition, Coussens shared a lecture of her work and findings regarding “Modeling immune response: lessons learned from Mouse Models of Cancer Development.”

The Brinker Award for Clinical Distinction in Clinical Research was presented to Eric Winer, M.D., Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School, Senior Vice President for Medical Affairs, Director, Breast Cancer Program; Thompson Chair in Breast Cancer Research, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute in Boston, MA. 

Winer is best known for his advances from clinical trials to daily practice, and his focus on optimizing treatments for specific patient populations. Upon receiving his recognition, Winer shared a lecture of his clinical work and findings regarding “The challenge of doing less.”

Categories: | Tags: | View Count: (5696) | Return

Post a Comment